HomeAnimalsUnicorn of the sea

Unicorn of the sea


Narwhals are a type of whale that live in the Arctic waters around Canada, Greenland, Russia, and Norway. They are also sometimes called the “unicorns of the sea” because of the long, spiraled tusk that protrudes from the head of the male narwhal.


Narwhals are medium-sized whales, typically growing to be around 15-20 feet long and weighing around 3,500-4,500 pounds. They have a distinctive appearance, with a small head, a stocky body, and a round, flat tail. Narwhals are generally a grey color, but their skin can also appear mottled or speckled.


Narwhals are adapted to life in the cold Arctic waters and are able to dive to depths of more than a mile in search of food. They primarily feed on fish, such as Arctic cod, and occasionally on squid and shrimp. Narwhals use their tusks, which are actually modified teeth, to defend themselves and to break through the ice that forms on the surface of the water in the winter.


Narwhals are social animals and live in large groups called pods. They communicate with each other using clicks and whistles, and they are known for their vocalizations, which are some of the most complex of any whale species.


Narwhals are considered to be a threatened species due to a variety of factors, including climate change, overfishing, and pollution. They are protected by international law, but their populations are still declining.

All the photo credit goes to the respective owners.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here